Skip to content

Good luck, little lander

November 12, 2014
Rosetta’s parting image of Philae as the lander began its seven-hour descent to the surface of the comet

Rosetta’s parting image of Philae as the lander began its seven-hour descent to the surface of the comet

Nothing short of astounding. I’m following events here: http://new.livestream.com/esa/cometlanding

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kelvingreen permalink
    November 12, 2014 8:02 pm

    I was surprised at how pleased I was when they announced they’d landed. I wouldn’t consider myself a big space nerd but something about the achievement got to me. Well done space boffins!

    • November 12, 2014 10:01 pm

      Today was my day off work. I had planned to do some writing, but instead I was on the edge of my seat all afternoon, glued to the ESA live stream. It’s a remarkable achievement. Amazing what humans are capable of when we forget to be idiots for a while.

      • kelvingreen permalink
        November 12, 2014 10:06 pm

        Well said, although I reserve the right to disagree should things devolve into a Quatermass/Lifeforce type situation.

Leave a Reply

