Skip to content

Random referendum result

September 17, 2014

I’m half-Scottish and half-Welsh. I was born in England and grew up in Scotland. I’ve lived and worked north and south of the border – “baith sides o’ the Tweed”, as Burns would say. Hell, I’ve even worked in the Houses of Parliament, lair of the loathed Westminster elite.

My old office

My old office

In a word – and for better or worse – I’m British.

I was going to try and write something about my intellectual and emotional struggles with the approaching referendum on Scottish independence. Other gamers have written cogent and thoughtful pieces on their blogs, and I am broadly sympathetic to their views:

http://falsemachine.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/curriculum-vitae.html

http://monstersandmanuals.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/sorry-about-politics-but-its-time-to.html

But I’ve left it too late. The people of Scotland – a quite staggering 97% of the electorate has registered to vote – go to the polls tomorrow. (As I write this, it’s a little over seven hours until voting begins.) After agonising for ages, and getting depressed and angry about the conduct of the campaigns, I find myself on the eve of this momentous election in unexpectedly high spirits, and even able to appreciate a certain absurd humour in the notion of a referendum in which millions of people will vote either Yes or No. What’s next? Cats or Dogs? Heads or Tails? Come to think of it, since polls suggest the result will be horribly close, I suggest a coin-toss would be cheaper and a lot less hassle. Or indeed an OSR-approved random table. Roll 1d6:

1. Resounding yes
2. Yes, but…
3. No, but…
4. Categorical no
5. Devo max
6. Goblins (2d6)

See you on the other side, wherever that turns out to be.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2014 8:26 am

    I would go with “6. Nyarlathotep” but that’s just me.

    It’s going to be an interesting day.

  2. Janie permalink
    September 18, 2014 2:58 pm

    My money’s on the goblins…

Leave a Reply

