Skip to content

This is madness!

March 23, 2014

Michael Curtis’s announcement that Stonehell 2 (featuring levels 6-10 of the eponymous megadungeon) is only a couple of months away makes me a very happy DM. I’m itching to discover the secrets of the prison’s lower depths – the fabled “Astronaut’s Tomb” especially. My players haven’t yet ventured beyond the third level, but that could change at any moment.

Having said that, our Stonehell on the Borderlands campaign is on hiatus right now. Non-gaming “real life” stuff has intervened, in the form of a very recent addition to the family of one of my three players. Understandably, Martin now faces demands on his time and attention even more pressing and important than acquiring those last few XP to get his mage Nebit Mhunraice to 2nd level.

In the meantime, we intend to play some shorter games of 1-2 sessions apiece. This means that I get to be a player occasionally, which is a very refreshing change. Last week, Craig ran a nameless homebrewed D&D variant. My mohican-sporting fighter G.B. Hovercraft faced cleaver-wielding badger-men and mysterious demonic foes on the Isle of Gavgaar, and did not live to tell the tale. Great fun, though.

forgiveusIt also means we have a chance to visit – or revisit, as the case may be – some other games, old and new. I’ve been eyeing my old Ghostbusters box set for a while now. Maybe it’s time for a session of spook-snaring silliness as a tip of the hat to the late Harold Ramis. Furthermore, despite the number of boxes with Helsinki postmarks I’ve received over the years, I’ve never actually run a game of Lamentations of the Flame Princess. I think that might change very soon – the catalyst being Kelvin Green’s recently published Forgive Us, which is bloody brilliant. Kelvin references White Dwarf in his introduction, and – with its English provincial setting and its combination of grisly tentacular horror, gags and authorial asides – Forgive Us feels like an adventure that could have graced that periodical in its prime. Moreover, it strikes me as an excellent, accessible introduction to the game LotFP has become in a way that books like Carcosa, Vornheim or Qelong – for all their many marvellous qualities – are not. Nice map, too!

Finally, this afternoon I started work on what’s intended to be a “module”-sized adventure for a few sessions’ worth of weird sword-and-sorcery dungeon-crawling. I’m fully aware of the fact that I start many more projects than I finish (D100 Jorune, anyone?) but I have a particular idea in mind right now and it’s clawing at my skull in its eagerness to get out. I’ll say no more but I’ll leave you with a glimpse of my work table.

thisismadness

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kelvingreen permalink
    March 24, 2014 8:17 pm

    You are very kind. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

