Skip to content

Subterranea Britannica

March 7, 2014

I just found out about this site from a friend on Facebook. Despite the name, the coverage is not restricted to these islands. There are – to pick a topical example – some good photographs of the remains of a Soviet-era submarine base in the Crimea.

balaclava

But the pictures that really grabbed me (and the ones that led me to the site in the first place) are of the old railway tunnel under Scotland Street, Edinburgh. I’ve stayed in Scotland Street before – in a basement flat, as it happens – unaware that this was mere yards away.

scotlandstreet

scotlandstreet

Now there’s a tunnel just crying out for a shoggoth… Tekeli-li!

And on the topic of Lovecraftian horror, West Norwood Cemetery in London, with its catacombs and its hydraulic coffin lift would make a perfect location for Cthulhu by Gaslight investigations. There’s even a map.

westnorwood

westnorwoodplan

The site’s layout is rather clunky and it’s not that easy to navigate. Nevertheless, if you’re seeking visual inspiration for your Cthulhu game – or post-apocalypse bunker, or city underworld, or steampunk megadungeon, or whatever – it’s well worth trawling through the categories.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2014 6:30 pm

    I’ve been a fan of SubBrit for ages… ever since I used Google to find out about the creepy old bunker in the woods near where I grew up. It turned out to be a regional control centre for 1950s nuclear civil defence. SubBrit maps never seem to draw the walls thick enough for my dungeon-crafting mind, but some of the places they’ve gained access to are fantastic.

    Later, you may want to move on to the ‘dark side’ of urban exploration (without permission, generally) and have a look at the ’28 Days Later’ forum.

    • March 12, 2014 10:56 pm

      There was a creepy old bunker in the woods near where I grew up too. That is, just outside Selkirk in the Scottish Borders. My brother and I found and explored it with some friends. (That’s the kind of thing children got up to in ’70s Britain… Watching Blake’s 7, playing on waste ground and exploring subterranean bunkers. None of your SegaStation Xbob nonsense in those days.) There were dilapidated bunks and the remnants of a telegraph system down there. I expect it was something similar to yours. I can find no mention of it online, on SubBrit or anywhere else. I wonder if I could locate it again after all these years.

  2. March 16, 2014 6:43 pm

    Let’s see if this works…

Leave a Reply

