Skip to content

A decent haul

January 25, 2014

Last weekend, my friend Stuart (erstwhile player of Frack the thief) and I paid a visit to the Oxfam bookshop in Stockbridge, Edinburgh. Someone had recently donated a load of SF and fantasy paperbacks, many of them in the Panther/Granada editions from the 1970s and early ’80s that hit my nostalgia button hard. Most were in good nick too. Oxfam were selling them for a pound apiece. I had a tenner in my pocket, so here’s what I got:

haul

Half of them (the Sheas, the Vances and the van Vogt) I’ve already read, or even got on my shelves, but at £1 each I couldn’t resist. I can always give them as presents. Of the others, what should I read first?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mikemonaco permalink
    January 25, 2014 7:57 pm

    That IS a nice haul. I’d start with the flashing swords. Great mix of writers. Lin Carter was not much of a writer but he could sure edit compilations!

    • January 26, 2014 3:21 am

      Thanks! I’ve had my eye on those. I’m already familiar with some of the stories contained therein. Nevertheless, it’s impossible to read Vance’s “Morreion” too many times, I think.

Leave a Reply

