Skip to content

Late to the Random Wizard’s party

July 28, 2013

Random Wizard originally posted the “Top Ten Troll Questions” here.

1. Race (Elf, Dwarf, Halfling) as a class? Yes or no?
Yes. I wouldn’t be averse to running AD&D or Blood & Treasure some time, but B/X is where my heart lies.

2. Do demi-humans have souls?
My games rarely get that metaphysical. Maybe they have demi-souls?

3. Ascending or descending armor class?
I run Stonehell on the Borderlands using B/X with classic descending AC, but have run Swords & Wizardry and Pars Fortuna with ascending, and it’s growing on me.

4. Demi-human level limits?
Yes, and human PCs are limited (as per B/X) to 14th level. Which is about twice as high as the maximum level I would consider suitable for play anyway.

5. Should thief be a class?
Abso-bloody-lutely. If there were only one class in the game, it should be thief/adventurer, the LBBs notwithstanding.

6. Do characters get non-weapon skills?
Sort of, yes. Climb, Hear Noise, Open Door, and Search are on the character sheets for Stonehell on the Borderlands. It’s campaign-dependent, so for a wilderness hexcrawly game, I might include Bushcraft and/or Tracking.

7. Are magic-users more powerful than fighters (and, if yes, what level do they take the lead)?
More powerful but less robust. The PC magic-users in Stonehell on the Borderlands keep getting killed by spider bites and traps.

8. Do you use alignment languages?
No.

9. XP for gold, or XP for objectives (thieves disarming traps, etc…)?
XP for monsters defeated and gold hauled back to the Keep.

10. Which is the best edition; ODD, Holmes, Moldvay, Mentzer, Rules Cyclopedia, 1E ADD, 2E ADD, 3E ADD, 4E ADD, Next ?
I think it’s hard to beat Moldvay/Cook/Marsh for clarity and style. And I love the artwork of Erol Otus and Bill Willingham. However, I will happily use ideas from OD&D, Holmes Basic and/or AD&D (1e and 2e). I don’t know 3e or 4e. Moreover, I will use different rules for different campaigns, partly because particular rules might seem more or less appropriate depending on the campaign environment and the flavour I’m going for, and partly just because it’s fun to try new things. This applies to all the questions and answers above.

Bonus Question: Unified XP level tables or individual XP level tables for each class?
Individual. But then I like thieves so I would say that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

