Skip to content

Swords & Wizardry Appreciation Day

April 7, 2013

Blogging has been far from my thoughts recently for various real-world reasons. Nevertheless, two events in the OSR have inspired me to climb back in the saddle. One is the miraculous recovery and revival by Greg o’ Gorgonmilk of the missing-in-action Petty Gods project. I’ll have more to say about that soon.

The other is Erik Tenkar’s stewardship of the Swords & Wizardry Appreciation Day planned for the 17th of April. Over 100 bloggers have already signed up to deliver some S&W goodies on the day. Hats off to them, and to Erik of course. I haven’t decided exactly what I’ll be doing, but – as it happens – this afternoon I ran my first game using the S&W WhiteBox rules as written. (Well, almost as written; I only had two players, so we used individual initiative as per my usual D&D house style. And, as always, we used random hats.) It was fun. There were a few deaths, mainly of the save-versus-poison-or-die variety. I really enjoyed the simplicity and openness of the system. Hell, “system” almost seems too heavy and pretentious a word for such a freewheelin’ little set of rules. Anyway, I think whatever I post in ten days’ time will be WhiteBox in flavour.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

