Skip to content

Kenneth Grahame goes to Vornheim

May 2, 2012

You’re busy, I know. But if you can spare nine minutes of your precious time, you might enjoy this mini-epic of stop-motion animation. I first saw it twenty-odd years ago at a film festival, and I loved it. This is the first time I’ve seen a high-quality version on YouTube.

Without further ado, here’s “Toxic” by Andrew McEwan:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 10:40 am

    I’ve never seen it before and I enjoyed that greatly, thanks Alan. Your description of it is perfect. 🙂

    • May 2, 2012 10:46 am

      Glad you enjoyed it. I really like its blend of cute and creepy, cheesy and weird. And I’m sure the skeletons are an homage to Harryhausen. Of course there’s an Aussie element too!

      • May 2, 2012 10:50 am

        Yes, it wasn’t until they went outside that I realised it was filmed in the UK. The various marsupials made me think the film-maker might’ve been an Aussie, although I had my doubts when I saw the armadillo. I loved that the heroes of the story appeared to be some sort of “vatmen”.

Leave a Reply

