Skip to content

Does the world need another gaming blog?

December 30, 2011

I strongly suspect not. Nevertheless, here it is and here we are. What shall we talk about? I have a few ideas. But first, my credentials:

These are my oldest dice. My entry into the RPG hobby was with the Moldvay-edited, Otus-covered Dungeons & Dragons Basic Set that I bought in early 1983. The dice in the upper left came with that set. Those in the upper right, in fetchingly complementary red and green, came in the box of the D&D Expert Set, which I bought shortly afterwards. There should also be a yellow d10 and a green one, but some scallywag stole them (perhaps unwittingly) after a game of something or other (Call of Cthulhu, I’m betting) at Edinburgh University’s Teviot Union in the late 1980s. To replace my lost percentiles, I purchased the speckled dice in the foreground at Games Gallery on Forrest Road. Games Gallery is long gone and much missed, but these dice have weathered the passing years (decades, even) remarkably well, all things considered.

As much as anything else, this post is just me figuring out how WordPress works, so that’ll do for now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 9:40 pm

    Welcome aboard the game blogging express. I can tell by the Carcosa article above and the Basic rulebook to the right that you are a gentleman of taste.

  2. January 3, 2012 10:17 pm

    Thanks for the kind welcome. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

