Skip to content

What will you be doing to celebrate D&D’s 40th birthday?

January 1, 2014

This hobby we cherish was born four decades ago, when Tactical Studies Rules published Dungeons & Dragons by Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson in January 1974. Jon Peterson, D&D historian extraordinaire, makes a reasonable case for proclaiming the 26th to be the “official” anniversary. I’m thinking to mark the occasion maybe I should run a game of OD&D – using only the Little Beige Books that I acquired just over a year ago.

Little beige booklets

The question is: what should I run? The Temple of the Frog, maybe? Or a game of my own making? I thought about doing a “proof of concept” Alien Orifice one-shot, but AO comes with a raft of house rules, including a “no clerics” policy, and I think I’d prefer to run something closer in “feel” to OD&D as written. Hmmm… This requires some more thought.

Anyway, I was just wondering. Is anyone else planning something special, either in their gaming or on their blog, to mark the Big Four-O?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2014 10:57 pm

    I wasn’t, but that sounds like a fun idea. Do you know the original release month or day, by any chance?

    • January 6, 2014 11:37 pm

      I don’t think anyone does, exactly. Jon Peterson’s timeline (linked to above) is probably as close as we’re going to get. It seems Mike Mornard and probably other friends of Gary were able to get their hands on copies by early January, but there’s no precise date when the game was “officially” released to the public.

      I’ve just learned that at least one of my regular players can’t make the 26th so we might hold our own “official” celebrations on a different date anyway.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

