Skip to content

Lost in Time: Year Two

December 29, 2013

Who knows where the time goes? Another year has flown by. Time to pause and take stock.

When I look back at my blog posts for 2013, I am frankly underwhelmed. For a start, I’ve only posted about 30 times this year. (Last year, it was almost 100.) And after you subtract all the obituaries and questionnaires and guinea pigs in scale mail, little of substance remains. There are perhaps a dozen posts that have some kind of useful content (in my opinion), and they can be summarised as follows:

D&D discussion: Wisdom in cleric-free D&D
Thieves: Robber class; alternative mechanics
Adventures: Call of the Xul; Ynys Bach
New monsters: Living axe; alternative bugbears
New magic items: Flute of the forest; Prebasang’s melancholy marionette
Random tables: 30 Welsh meatshields
Reviews, of a sort: Magic World; Pars Fortuna

At this point you, gentle reader, might suppose that I should resolve to do better and promise to post more in 2014. But no. For one thing, I don’t make promises I can’t necessarily keep. (That’s one reason why you won’t see me running a Kickstarter campaign any time soon…) For another, I’m not sure how much more I have to say.

I’m writing two campaigns, Ruins of Ebidoria (for my first love, B/X) and Alien Orifice (for my new mistress, LBB-only OD&D)*. They are growing slowly but steadily. I’m in no particular hurry with either of them, because we’re still playing Stonehell on the Borderlands and there’s plenty more mileage in those night-haunted halls. I’ve shared a few tidbits from Alien Orifice but I don’t intend to publish too much of it because at least two of my players read this blog and I don’t want to spoil any surprises.

As for my D100 Jorune project, consider it not extinct but dormant. Right now my interests – and hence my priorities – lie elsewhere. What I will try to do is gather all my notes, edit them into some sort of shape, and put them on here for others to peruse.

Back in April, when I posted “Call of the Xul”, I noted that the drinkers at Tenkar’s Tavern were clamouring for mini-adventures and said I would try to make some more. Well, erm… ahem. Anyway, yes. I do enjoy writing and running (and playing!) short games, so I hope to post some more daft wee adventures soon. As I said in April, watch this space.

*Alternatively, Ebidoria might use LotFP and Orifice might be for S&W WhiteBox, but same difference.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2013 10:24 pm

    From the little people: best wishes for the New Year, and thanks for the wild, the wacky and the woolly throughout the year.

    • December 31, 2013 10:29 pm

      …and the Welsh! Thanks, Richard. Faerie best wishes for 2014. (Do you see what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

