Skip to content

Lost in Time: Year One

December 31, 2012

Did the world need another gaming blog? No, of course not. However, in the year and a day since Lost in Time began, we’ve had some fun. Since illness has curtailed whatever plans I might have had for Hogmanay, and if you’ll forgive some self-indulgence, I’m going to take a last look back at what went down on this blog in 2012. I’ll keep it short, because I’m a merciful man. Here are half a dozen personal highlights from Lost in Time’s first fumbling year.

1. Lost in Time got 300+ hits in one day because I mentioned Carcosa. Since then, it’s been lucky to get 30 hits per day. Maybe I should mention Carcosa more often.

2. I wrote a mini-sandbox adventure in 17 hours, re-wrote one encounter as a one-page dungeon, submitted it to a contest, and won a fun prize!

3. I poked the slumbering Faerie Wood with a stick – Dave Macauley helped – and it stirred and spoke in its sleep.

4. I wrote a sarcastic review of a highly anticipated science fiction film that turned out (not entirely unexpectedly) to be a load of old cobblers. For no adequately explained reason, the review was presented in one-page dungeon format, and did not mention the name of the film even once.

5. A cheap joke about a book cover got a Palin-style “thumbs up” from three readers. This pleased me immensely.

6. Did I mention Carcosa?

Thanks to everyone who’s stopped by, and especially all those who have commented and encouraged me in my folly. You know who you are. Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

