Skip to content

While we’re on the subject of maps…

January 7, 2012

(Well, we sort of are. We were, anyway. Whatever.)

I work in a bookshop. There are many customers who shop there regularly. I know most of these customers by name, and I know what kinds of books they read, or at least what kinds of books they buy. Sometimes I’ll bump into one of them in the street, or at a gig, or wherever, and we’ll say hello or stop and have a chat – usually, but not always, about books. But I can’t say I really know these people. It’s not like we’re friends.

Sometimes I’ll realise that I haven’t seen one or another of these customers for a while, and I’ll wonder what’s happened to them. Have they moved away? Are they ill or otherwise indisposed? I really hope they haven’t died, but it’s possible. It’s also possible, of course, that they’ve betrayed us (and indeed all of humanity) by purchasing their books at Amazon instead.

Then, sometimes, they’ll reappear in the shop, and obviously it wasn’t anything bad at all. Maybe they just happened to come in on my days off and I missed them. Or maybe it was something serious, but whatever it was it’s alright now. Anyway, I’m relieved to see them again.

Well, it’s a bit like that with blogs. Sometimes a blogger says goodbye, and goes. Sometimes they don’t say goodbye; they just go. And sometimes they don’t come back, and I wonder what’s happened to them.

It’s a great relief, therefore, to see Dyson Logos return to blogging after a period of silence. I don’t know anything about Dyson except that he prefers his D&D B/X-flavoured, his PDF zine Dyson’s Dodecahedron is filled with inspirational ideas, and his maps (see, I said we were on the subject of maps) are wonderful. His latest dungeon is even called Carver’s Cave. What’s not to love?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 5:59 am

    I’ve admired Dyson’s maps from afar, though I have not really invested the time to go through the back catalog of his blog (I know, I should).

    Anyways, I had no idea he put out a free zine too! Thanks for pointing me at Dodecahedron.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

